Returning to Social Media, Sharing my thoughts

Many friends have asked me about my absence from social media (principally Facebook, Blog, Twitter) for some time. I had expected to return to it after my last post some time in January (after absence of more than two months) but somehow that did not happen.

I had assumed that all my contacts knew that I was visiting Bharat but apparently that is not the case. I have people telling me- “Oh, we didn’t know you were in Bharat. When did you come? When are you going back?” So I should let all know that I have been in Bharat since mid December and will be here till late April.

Unlike in the past, this time my travel is limited as the objective of this visit is different. This time my wife and I have decided to spend quality time with my mother who is 91 years old , in her own home. Here in Karnavati (i.e., Amdavad). As such she stays in USA with us brothers but obviously she loves to be here in the house where she has spent decades and has many sweet memories. Naturally, we couldn’t be traveling around leaving her alone at home, so our outings are limited to a few hours in and around Karnavati.

This is first time that we are spending extended time in Bharat and I had to learn a lot about how to get the house going- be it reconnection of phone line, gas line, finding a cooking lady, finding servant, getting Internet connection, doing all grocery shoppng, etc. It has been fun as well as a challenge.

In the new environment, I find that my attraction (or is it addiction?) to computer has lessened considerably. I do check my emails regularly and at times visit Facebook briefly but have not ventured to write blogs.

I am enjoying watching early morning stars, long morning walks (1.5 to 3 miles), sipping warm milk while reading Indian Express leisurely on the swing (Jhoola) in our compound , sweeping fallen leaves from trees, watching some TV, afternoon naps, sitting with my mother reminiscing of days gone by, reading whatever I fancy

(I am reading simultaneously Mahabharat’s Shanti Parva , Dilip Kumar’s autography and an engineering book) and doing a host of myriad other things, including finding a right contractor to repair our house.

It is strange that I have not remembered for a moment in this time my house in Edison, NJ where I have lived for 15 years.

There s a lot to write about and God willing I will have multiple blogs in near future.

These are the subjects floating in my mind:

  • Township developed for followers of a particular Sampradaya
  • Visit of villages with a doctor
  • Jamnagar, and swachcha Bharat
  • Rajkot, Visiting an Old Age Home
  • Yeh Bambai Meri Jaan
  • GIBV conference on Make in India
  • Vibrant Gujarat?
  • What a determined young lady could achieve- Innovative Quality Group (IQG)
  • Inside the mind of a young volunteer engaged in village education
  • Father Vallace, proud Gujarati, my professor of Calculus
  • Observations on a morning walk- 1
  • Observations on a morning walk- 2
  • Obama and 26th January
  • Kettle calling pot black
  • Delhi Election
  • Hindus at receiving end, again
  • Million Rupees coat!
  • Losing a loved one- de ja vu
  • Slip between a cup and lips

There may be some additional ones. I do not know how many of these I will be able to write. Perhaps I will just make blogs using bullet points only.

In the mean time, naturally I would like to speak with and meet as many of my friends , contacts and relatives as possible. I could be contacted at vicharak@gmail.com or 98791-93725.

It is nice to get back in touch with you!

Gaurang Vaishnav

Posted on February 25, 2015, in Unclassified and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. dhaval joshipura

    I tried to contact you on your phone given in the blog but goes to someone else??!!
    I could be contacted at vicharak@gmail.com or 98971-93725.
    Please send me your phone no while in Bharat.

  2. Sorry for the typo. Correct phone # is: 98791-93725. I have updated the # in the article.

    Thank you.

    Gaurang Vaishnav

Leave a Reply

Hildaraja's Blog

about my reactions and responses to men and affairs

બોઝિલ

EXISTANCE ON THE EARTH IS STILL BOZIL ..

રઝળપાટ

- મારી કલમ ના પગલા

World Hindu Economic Forum

Making Society Prosperous

Suchetausa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Guruprasad's Portal

Inspirational, Insightful, Informative..

Aksharnaad.com

Read, Listen, Feel Gujarati.

Ramani's blog

Health Mantras Hinduism Research Global Hinduism History Science Vedic Texts

Jayshree Merchant

Gujarati Writer & Poet

churumuri

swalpa sihi, swalpa spicy

થીગડું

તૂટી-ફૂટી ગયેલા વિચારો પર કલમ થી માર્યું એક થીગડું.....

Swami Vivekananda

Let noble thoughts come to us from all sides, news too..

Acta Indica › The St Thomas In India History Swindle

Articles on the dubious Saint Thomas in India legend by noted historians, researchers, and journalists

2ndlook

Take a 2ndlook | Different Picture, Different Story

उत्तरापथ

तक्षशिला से मगध तक यात्रा एक संकल्प की . . .

Stories from the Heartland

One Californian's life as a Midwest transplant

Vicharak1's Weblog

My thoughts and useful articles from media

